South African Insurance Association

+27 11 726 5381
public unrest

SAIA successfully holds virtual AGM, re-electing majority of board

The South African Insurance Association at its Annual Meeting held virtually on 22 July 2021 has re-elected the board and welcomed newly elected Board Member, Mr Phillip Donnelly who joins the SAIA Board from Bidvest Insurance Company Ltd.

Ms Robyn Farrell resigned from the SAIA Board at the end of April 2021 upon her stepping down from being Managing Director of Auto and General.

SAIA Board Chairman, Mr Cedric Masondo thanked all Board members for their diligent work over the past year, highlighting that the year 2020 and 2021 have not been easy as the industry had to deal with Contingency Business Interruption claims, as well as the recent politically motivated riots in KwaZulu Natal and Gauteng.

The newly elected SAIA Board Members are as Follows:

Board as follows, per previous:

Lizé Lambrechts Santam Limited
Willem Lategan The Hollard Insurance Company Limited
Danie Matthee OUTsurance Insurance Company Limited
Nolwandle Mbalo Standard Insurance Limited
Easvarie Naidoo Lloyd's Underwriters (represented by Lloyd's South Africa (Pty)
Garth Napier Old Mutual Insure
Edwyn O'Neill Bryte Insurance Company Limited
Anton Ossip Discovery Insure Limited
Phillip Donnelly Bidvest Insurance Company Limited
Walter Marte Nedgroup Insurance Company Limited
Charles Nortje Credit Guarantee Insurance Corporation of Africa Limited
Herman Schoeman Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited
Wayne Abraham AIG South Africa Limited
Gary Jack Chubb Insurance South Africa Limited
Thusang Mahlangu Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty South Africa Limited
Terrance Ray SCOR SE - Africa Branch
Beat Strebel Swiss Re Africa Limited
Jacqueline Kilani ESCAP SOC Limited
Cedric Masondo Sasria SOC Limited
Maniki Rakgalakane Land Bank Insurance Company